Teaching Machines - Wellspring (Stereo Spring Reverb Machine)

€1,700.00 *
Net price: €1,428.57

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pre-order - Delivery date t.b.d.
 

  • 240081
The sound of a spring reverb is something quite special and has been accompanying our ears for... more
Product information "Teaching Machines - Wellspring (Stereo Spring Reverb Machine)"

A Magical Device: In Wellspring, Teaching Machines combine Delay, Filter, Modulation, and Spring Reverb all in one unit, and all of it in stereo!

The sound of a spring reverb is something quite special and has been accompanying our ears for quite some time. First in a Hammond organ, then in spring amps, and soon to be found in almost every studio, spring reverbs make up an important part of the 60s sound.
One characteristic of spring reverbs is the rather muddy, dull, and metallic sound. This is attributed to the springs which, when shorter in length, can only reproduce a small frequency range. The affordable price and this unique sound made them interesting for psychedelic rock, dub, reggae, and much more.
The most famous effect pairing and the signature sound of entire genres is reverb and delay - more precisely: spring reverb and tape delay! Teaching Machines deliver with their wonderful Wellspring exactly this fantastic combination, contemporarily expanded to fulfill your wet Dick Dale dreams - in stereo!

Wellspring comes from the capital of Wales and is a tribute to effects that we all use and love. Built in a high-quality metal housing, you'll find a powerful preamplifier, a work-horse delay, a crisp filter, a four (!) springs for reverb, as well as modulations. Nothing is missing here, and despite the multitude of functions, Wellspring has remained clear and intuitive.

Your signals arrive at the rear stereo input, with a guitar/line input also available directly on the front of the device. You can control your signal's amplitude here using the level pot and even add distortion. Next, it goes into the delay circuit, which is based on the ubiquitous and tried&tested Princeton PT2399 chip from the late 80s. This chip is full of character and degrades sound quality at longer delay times. Therefore, it is still often used today as a substitute for expensive and fragile tape delays. There are individual controls for the left (time 1) and right (time 2) delay time. Via a switch, "Follow" can be activated, whereby the time 2 control acts as an offset control for the time set in time 1. This is great for two-voice karplus strong or ping-pong delays. The feedback parameter acts in a classic manner or additionally allows you to switch the left and right feedbacks!
The next component is an analog filter with four modes. No frills, but with everything you need. Mode-Switch, Cutoff and good sound. The filter in this device is a very important component for obvious sound shaping, but also for removing high frequencies from the delay chip (if desired) or taming the feedback. The whole section has a Dry/Wet control.
The mixture set here then goes into the springs. Wellspring is loaded with a total of 4 springs, each 38cm (15”). This means Wellspring sounds completely different from a typical spring reverb. The sound is not muddy and dull but vast and clear. It will never sound like a digital reverb, but that's not the point. A spring reverb sounds like a spring reverb, and that's the beauty of it! Of course, there's also a dry/wet parameter here. Here, "Dry" uses the mix from the previous dry/wet.
A central parameter of Wellspring is "Magic"! This is a feedback loop that feeds the springs back into the delay. A great way to achieve escalating feedback while still maintaining full control over the sound by passing through all stages again. Here, the filter comes into play again, allowing you to achieve very extreme (high resonance) or very gentle (strong filtering) results. Especially in combination with the integrated LFO, great things are possible here. The LFO has two waveforms and can be independently assigned to filter and delay. The LFO speed goes into the audible range - very cool!

This is not a Lexicon or Altiverb. This is a dub stereo reverb space & time laboratory. This is about the auditory spatial impressions that only electroacoustic tinkerers and dub scientists can achieve. The people behind Teaching Machines have designed a great first product with Wellspring and clearly put in a lot of effort.

Features:

  • Stereo Delay (Princeton PT2399)
  • Analog multimode filter (low, band, high, notch)
  • Stereo spring reverb with two 15" springs per channel
  • Magic parameter (feedback from springs in delay)
  • LFO as modulation (ramp and sine wave) up to audible range
  • Individual attenuation for delay and filter (inversion of the right channel possible!)
  • Stereo input and output on the rear panel
  • Mono input at the front (line or instrument level)
  • Input gain
  • CV input

External videos:


Related links to "Teaching Machines - Wellspring (Stereo Spring Reverb Machine)"
"Teaching Machines - Wellspring (Stereo Spring Reverb Machine)"
Wellspring @Teaching Machines
Manual
240129_1 APB - ProSpec 2U6M2S
€2,140.00 *
Net price: €1,798.32
NEW STUFF
240130_1 Motas Electronics - Motas-6
€1,490.00 *
Net price: €1,252.10
230503_1 Elaphon - Œil Sympathique
€3,198.00 *
Net price: €2,687.39
240128_1 APB - ProSpec 1U8M
€1,270.00 *
Net price: €1,067.23
HOT SHIT
240116_1 Serge Modular - GTS Slope Generator III
€499.00 *
Net price: €419.33
240132_1 Vongon - Replay
€1,049.00 *
Net price: €881.51
NEW STUFF
240147_1 BLL Instruments - Elyra
€1,199.00 *
Net price: €1,007.56
230367_1 Finegear - Modmix
€1,785.00 *
Net price: €1,500.00
HOT SHIT
230447_1 Jomox - MoonWind MkII
€849.00 *
Net price: €713.45
HOT SHIT
NEW STUFF
240152_1 Sleepy Circuits - Hypno (w/ Pi4)
€799.00 *
Net price: €671.43
240118_1 After Later Audio - Bartender
€399.00 *
Net price: €335.29
240148_1 Meng Qi - Honey
€46.00 *
Net price: €38.66
NEW STUFF
240028_1 Plinky - Plinky v3
€428.00 *
Net price: €359.66
240153_1 Sleepy Circuits - Mezzz
€459.00 *
Net price: €385.71
240083_1 Bubblesound - SpringVerb
€349.00 *
Net price: €293.28
230170_1 JMT Synth - SRV2
€308.00 *
Net price: €258.82
210574_1 WLK-Audio – Extended Range Fixed Filterbank
€2,398.00 *
Net price: €2,015.13
230189_1 JMT Synth - EGL-1
€335.00 *
Net price: €281.51
240078_1 Hexinverter - Mutant Machine 2024
€368.00 *
Net price: €309.24
240131_1 Pittsburgh Modular - Taiga Keyboard
€1,299.00 *
Net price: €1,091.60
230673_1 Lorre Mill - Comb Room
€399.00 *
Net price: €335.29
210376_1 Vermona - DSR-3
€1,048.00 *
Net price: €880.67
230616_1 Torso Electronics - S-4
€859.00 *
Net price: €721.85
240137_1 ALM Busy Circuits - CIZZLE
€339.00 *
Net price: €284.87
240067_1 Divkid - Output Bus
€198.00 *
Net price: €166.39
240108_1 Tiptop Audio - The Analog Bundle S2
€1,080.00 *
Net price: €907.56
240107_1 Tiptop Audio - The Analog Bundle S1
€1,020.00 *
Net price: €857.14
240087_1 Steady State Fate (SSF) - Ultra-Random Redux
€349.00 *
Net price: €293.28
240009_1 Tasty Chips Electronics - GR-MEGA
€1,790.00 *
Net price: €1,504.20
220221_1 WLK-Audio – Inductive Filter Bank
€1,398.00 *
Net price: €1,174.79
200188_1 Finegear - Dust Collector
€518.00 *
Net price: €435.29
HOT SHIT
240144_1 WMD - Digital VCA MKIII
€268.00 *
Net price: €225.21
240082_1 Bubblesound - SEM20st
€349.00 *
Net price: €293.28
230340_1 Vongon - Ultrasheer
€565.00 *
Net price: €474.79
240123_1 After Later Audio - USB-2CH
€99.00 *
Net price: €83.19
240122_1 After Later Audio - Mingles
€189.00 *
Net price: €158.82
230342_1 Vongon - Polyphrase
€565.00 *
Net price: €474.79
120712_1 Knas - Ekdahl Moisturizer incl. power supply
€499.00 *
Net price: €419.33
170009_1 Cwejman MBC-3
€1,300.00 *
Net price: €1,092.44
Viewed

Teaching Machines - Wellspring (Stereo Spring Reverb Machine)

1.700,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.428,57 €

inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Vorbestellung - Termin unbekannt
 

  • 240081
Der Klang eines Federhalls ist etwas ganz Besonderes und begleitet unsere Ohren schon eine... mehr
Produktinformationen "Teaching Machines - Wellspring (Stereo Spring Reverb Machine)"

Ein magisches Gerät: In Wellspring vereinigen Teaching Machines Delay, Filter, Modulation und Federhall in einem Gerät und das alles in Stereo!

Der Klang eines Federhalls ist etwas ganz Besonderes und begleitet unsere Ohren schon eine kleine Weile. Zuerst in einer Hammond Orgel, dann in Feder Amps und bald schon in fast allen Studios zu finden, ist der Federhall ein wichtiger Klang der 60er Jahre.
Eine Charakteristik von Spring Reverbs ist der eher matschige, dupfe und metallische Klang. Das ist auf die Federn zurückzuführen, die, wenn eher kurz in der Länge, nur einen kleinen Frequenzbereich wiedergeben können. Der günstige Preis und eben dieser einmalige Klang machten sie interessant für Psychedelic Rock, Dub, Reggae und vieles mehr.
Die bekannteste Effekt Paarung und der Signature Sound von ganzen Genres ist Reverb und Delay - und um genauer zu sein: Spring Reverb und Tape Delay! Teaching Machines liefern mit ihrem wundervollen Wellspring genau diese fantastische Kombination, zeitgenössisch erweitert, um dir deine feuchten Dick-Dale-Träume zu erfüllen - in Stereo!

Wellspring kommt aus der Hauptstadt von Wales und ist eine Hommage an Effekte, die wir alle benutzen und lieben. Verbaut in einem hochwertigen Metallgehäuse findest du einen kräftigen Vorverstärker, ein solides Delay, einen knackigen Filter, vier (!) Federn für den Hall, sowie Modulationen. Hier fehlt wirklich nichts für deine Dub-Aspirationen und trotz der Masse an Funktionen ist Wellspring übersichtlich und intuitiv geblieben.

Deine Signale kommen am rückseitigen Stereo-Eingang an, wobei du auch einen Eingang direkt an der Vorderseite des Geräts hast. Dein Signal kannst du hier per Level-Poti in der Amplitude steuern und sogar anzerren. Als nächstes geht es in die Delay-Schaltung, die auf dem bewährten und omnipräsenten Princeton PT2399 Chip aus den späten 80er Jahren basiert. Dieser Chip steckt voller Charakter und lässt Klänge bei längeren Delay-Zeiten an Qualität verlieren. Daher wird er auch heute noch oft als Ersatz für teure und fragile Tape-Delays verwendet. Es gibt individuelle Regler für die linke (time 1) und rechte (time 2) Delayzeit. Über einen Switch wird "Follow" aktiviert, wodurch der time 2 Regler als ein Offset Regler für die in time 1 eingestellten Zeit agiert. Das ist praktisch für z.B. zwei-Stimmiges-Karplus-Strong oder Ping-Pong Delays. Der Feedback-Parameter agiert ganz klassisch, aber lässt dich zusätzlich auch die linken und rechten Feedback-Wege wechseln!
Das nächste Glied ist ein analoger Filter mit vier Modi. Ohne Schnick-Schnack. Mit allem was man braucht: Mode-Switch, Cutoff und guter Klang. Der Filter ist in diesem Gerät ein sehr wichtiger Baustein, um offensichtliche Klangformungen zu betreiben, aber eben auch um die hohen Frequenzen aus dem Delay-Chip zu entfernen (wenn gewünscht). Oder um das Feedback zu zähmen. Einen Dry/Wet Regler gibt es hier auch.
Die hier eingestellte Mischung geht dann in die Federn. Wellspring ist beladen mit ganzen 4 Federn, je mit 38cm (15”). Das bedeutet: Wellspring klingt ganz und gar anders als ein gewöhnliches Federhall. Der Klang ist nicht matschig und dumpf, sondern weit und klar. Natürlich kommt man nicht an digitale Reverbs ran, aber darum geht es auch gar nicht. Ein Federhall klingt nunmal wie ein Federhall und das ist auch das Schöne daran! Und Stereo-Federhall hat nochmal eine ganz andere Qualität.  Natürlich gibt es auch hier einen Dry/Wet-Parameter, welcher als Dry-Signal das Signal aus dem vorigen Dry/Wet verwendet.
Ein zentraler Parameter von Wellspring ist “Magic”! Dies ist eine Feedback-Schleife, die aus den Federn zurück in das Delay führt. Ein tolles Mittel um aufschaukelnde Rückkopplungen zu erzielen, und dennoch volle Kontrolle über den Klang zu bekommen, indem es nochmals alle Stufen durchläuft. Hier kommt der Filter wieder ins Spiel, welcher dich sehr extreme (hohe Resonanz) oder ganz sanfte (stark filtern) Ergebnisse erzielen lässt. Besonders in Verbindung mit dem integrierten LFO sind hier tolle Ergebnisse möglich. Der LFO hat zwei Wellenformen und kann unabhängig auf Filter und Delay zugewiesen werden. Die LFO-Geschwindigkeit geht in den hörbaren Bereich - sehr cool!

Das ist kein Lexikon oder Altiverb. Dies ist ein Dub-Stereo-Hall-Raum&Zeit-Labor. Hier geht es um die auditiven Raumeindrücke, die nur elektroakustische Tüftler und Dub-Wissenschaftler erreichen können. Die Menschen hinter Teaching Machines haben mit Wellspring ein tolles erstes Produkt entworfen, in dem offensichtlich viel Mühe steckt.

Features:

  • Stereo Delay (Princeton PT2399)
  • Analoger Multimode-Filter (Low-, Band, Highness, Notch)
  • Stereo Federhall mit zwei 15"-Federn pro Kanal
  • Magic-Parameter (Feedback von Federn in Delay)
  • LFO als Modulation (Rampe- und Sinuswelle) bis in hörbaren Bereich
  • Individuelle Abschwächen für Delay und Filter (Invertierung des rechten Kanals möglich!)
  • Stereo Ein- und Ausgang auf Rückseite
  • Mono Eingang vorne (Line- oder Instrumenten Level)
  • Eingangs-Gain
  • CV-Eingang

Externe Videos:


Weiterführende Links zu "Teaching Machines - Wellspring (Stereo Spring Reverb Machine)"
"Teaching Machines - Wellspring (Stereo Spring Reverb Machine)"
Wellspring @Teaching Machines
Manual
240129_1 APB - ProSpec 2U6M2S
2.140,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.798,32 €
NEW STUFF
240130_1 Motas Electronics - Motas-6
1.490,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.252,10 €
230503_1 Elaphon - Œil Sympathique
3.198,00 € *
Nettopreis: 2.687,39 €
240128_1 APB - ProSpec 1U8M
1.270,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.067,23 €
240116_1 Serge Modular - GTS Slope Generator III
499,00 € *
Nettopreis: 419,33 €
240132_1 Vongon - Replay
1.049,00 € *
Nettopreis: 881,51 €
240147_1 BLL Instruments - Elyra
1.199,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.007,56 €
230367_1 Finegear - Modmix
1.785,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.500,00 €
HOT SHIT
230447_1 Jomox - MoonWind MkII
849,00 € *
Nettopreis: 713,45 €
HOT SHIT
240152_1 Sleepy Circuits - Hypno (w/ Pi4)
799,00 € *
Nettopreis: 671,43 €
240148_1 Meng Qi - Honey
46,00 € *
Nettopreis: 38,66 €
240118_1 After Later Audio - Bartender
399,00 € *
Nettopreis: 335,29 €
240028_1 Plinky - Plinky v3
428,00 € *
Nettopreis: 359,66 €
210574_1 WLK-Audio – Extended Range Fixed Filterbank
2.398,00 € *
Nettopreis: 2.015,13 €
240153_1 Sleepy Circuits - Mezzz
459,00 € *
Nettopreis: 385,71 €
230170_1 JMT Synth - SRV2
308,00 € *
Nettopreis: 258,82 €
240083_1 Bubblesound - SpringVerb
349,00 € *
Nettopreis: 293,28 €
230673_1 Lorre Mill - Comb Room
399,00 € *
Nettopreis: 335,29 €
210376_1 Vermona - DSR-3
1.048,00 € *
Nettopreis: 880,67 €
230189_1 JMT Synth - EGL-1
335,00 € *
Nettopreis: 281,51 €
240078_1 Hexinverter - Mutant Machine 2024
368,00 € *
Nettopreis: 309,24 €
240131_1 Pittsburgh Modular - Taiga Keyboard
1.299,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.091,60 €
230616_1 Torso Electronics - S-4
859,00 € *
Nettopreis: 721,85 €
200188_1 Finegear - Dust Collector
518,00 € *
Nettopreis: 435,29 €
240137_1 ALM Busy Circuits - CIZZLE
339,00 € *
Nettopreis: 284,87 €
220221_1 WLK-Audio – Inductive Filter Bank
1.398,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.174,79 €
240067_1 Divkid - Output Bus
198,00 € *
Nettopreis: 166,39 €
240108_1 Tiptop Audio - The Analog Bundle S2
1.080,00 € *
Nettopreis: 907,56 €
240107_1 Tiptop Audio - The Analog Bundle S1
1.020,00 € *
Nettopreis: 857,14 €
240009_1 Tasty Chips Electronics - GR-MEGA
1.790,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.504,20 €
230340_1 Vongon - Ultrasheer
565,00 € *
Nettopreis: 474,79 €
120712_1 KNAS Ekdahl Moisturizer Spring reverb incl....
499,00 € *
Nettopreis: 419,33 €
240087_1 Steady State Fate (SSF) - Ultra-Random Redux
349,00 € *
Nettopreis: 293,28 €
230342_1 Vongon - Polyphrase
565,00 € *
Nettopreis: 474,79 €
HOT SHIT
240144_1 WMD - Digital VCA MKIII
268,00 € *
Nettopreis: 225,21 €
240082_1 Bubblesound - SEM20st
349,00 € *
Nettopreis: 293,28 €
230579_1 Tiptop Audio - Buchla Mixer/Preamplifier Model...
269,00 € *
Nettopreis: 226,05 €
HOT SHIT
230719_1 GS Music - e7 Analog Polyphonic Synthesizer
2.098,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.763,03 €
160097_1 OTO - BAM
568,00 € *
Nettopreis: 477,31 €
170009_1 Cwejman MBC-3
1.300,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.092,44 €
Zuletzt angesehen