Moog Matriarch

190246_1
€2,142.59 *
Net price: €1,847.06

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

In stock

  • 190246
This synth is very colourful and this is definitely a matter of taste. But this provides a very... more
Product information "Moog Matriarch"

The Moog family saga continues. Today we get to know the head of the family: The powerful Matriarch Synthesizer. Moog compiles within tis synth a "Best of" of his circuits to an impressive up to four-voice paraphonic synthesizer! The oscillator design comes from the Minimoog, the mixer is the well-known fat and saturating CP3. The stereo filter, the envelopes and the VCAs also come from the Moog Modular, while the Analog Delay is based on the Moggerfooger MF-104M. The signal routing is completely analogue and in stereo throughout.

This synth is very colourful and this is definitely a matter of taste. But this provides a very good overview, which is absolutely necessary, because there are over 90 patch sockets on the control panel!

The Matriarch’s normalization / "pre-cabling" is designed in a way so that you can start immediately - without patching. The arrangement of the modules and the signal routing follows familiar concepts.

Sound generation:

The core of the sound generation is in the middle: Beside the four oscillators is a six-channel mixer, followed by a dual filter (parallel - HP/LP, stereo - LP/LP, serial - HP/LP), a utility section (see below) and an analogue dual ADSR. The final VCA is quite logically on the far right!

So there are:

  • Four oscillators with triangle, sawtooth, pulse wave. With additional linear frequency modulation and synchronizable with each other (2-3-4).
  • Mixer based on the Moog CP3. It is DC-coupled, so it can also process CVs and has six channels. One of them is intended for the integration of external signals and is connected to the 6.35mm mono jack socket on the rear of the unit.
  • A dual highpass and lowpass filter based on the 904A module from the large Moog Modular.  It can be connected in series or parallel and can therefore also be used as a stereo filter.
  • Analog full Dual ADSR with End of Gate output. Pre-patched to filter and VCA.
  • Analog dual VCA with 6.35mm / line level controls for the main outputs on the rear panel, 3.5mm Eurorack level and headphone jack with separate volume control. In the VCA section you can switch between mono, duo and paraphonic playing.

Modulation sources:

To the left of the oscillators are modulation sources: A generously equipped LFO with six waveforms and keyboard control with arpeggiator and sequencer functionality. The keyboard is a 49 keys (four octaves) keyboard by Fatar with velocity and aftertouch. At the bottom left you can see the playing aids: Pitch and modulation wheel, as well as a control for the portamento time. The arpeggiator is simple but effective: Order, Forward/Backward, Random are available as playback modes. The sequencer can record up to 256 steps. Supporting polyphony with up to four notes per step.

These modulation sources are supported by a utility section with two CV-controllable attenuators/inverters (aka ring modulators). The fact that these are (modulation) VCAs/ring modulators allows very complex sound developments! A second utility section with only one ring modulator and (simple) LFO instead, is located between the filter and the dual envelope. This LFO is intended for the modulation of e.g. delay, filter and VCA. In both utility sections there is an unbuffered 4x multiple in the upper part to split signals.

Delay effect:

The VCA (far right) is preceded by the delay, which is stereo and based on vintage Bucket Brigade Delay chips. Due to the limitations of these chips, the delay time is limited to 700ms. But it's exactly the medium-length and very short times where this delay really shines. Either in parallel / stereo mode or as a jumping ping-pong delay.

As mentioned patching is not needed to bring the Moog Matriarch to live. But it is hugely rewarded with impressive, astonishing and unheard of sounds!

External videos:

Related links to "Moog Matriarch"
"Moog Matriarch"
Der Matriarch auf der Moog-Webseite
Here is the information available on the brand...... more
Moogmusic

Robert Arthur Moog is probably the inventor of the monophonic subtractive synthesizer as we know it. He started building theremins in upstate New York and by the mid 1960s got in contact with a number of of artists particularly Herb Deutsch, who convinced him to add a keyboard to the new instrument, a circumstance that made the Moog synthesizer popular among musicians. We owe to Bob Moog the invention of the resonant low-pass ladder filter (which provides the signature Moog sound and was his only filed patent); as well as the ADSR envelope, the pitch and mod wheel, etc. By 1971 and in an attempt to save the company from bankruptcy, the Minimoog Model D was born as a simplified, portable, hard-wired version of the large modular systems, which became the template for many monophonic synths to come. After his death in 2002, Moog Music is an employee-owned company operating from Asheville, North Carolina.

180193_1 Moog Grandmother
€891.93 *
Net price: €768.91
190526_1 Buchla - Easel Command
€3,197.31 *
Net price: €2,756.30
130413_1 MFB - Dominion 1
€1,345.21 *
Net price: €1,159.66
200005_1 Arturia - Keystep Pro
€388.94 *
Net price: €335.29
NEW STUFF
200188_1 Fine Gear - Dust Collector
€464.00 *
Net price: €400.00
160268_1 Vermona ´14 Analogsynthesizer
€2,337.55 *
Net price: €2,015.13
120269_1 Analogue Systems - French Connection
€2,914.62 *
Net price: €2,512.60
180010_1 Moog - DFAM (Drummer from another mother)
€541.01 *
Net price: €466.39
130115_1 Buchla Music Easel
€3,898.18 *
Net price: €3,360.50
180154_1 Erica Synths - Techno System
€4,375.83 *
Net price: €3,772.27
NEW STUFF
190278_1 Meng Qi - Wing Pinger
€1,362.76 *
Net price: €1,174.79
150258_1 Moog - Mother-32
€560.50 *
Net price: €483.19
HOT SHIT
190578_1 SynMag Verlag - A Guide to Modular Worlds
€29.43 *
Net price: €28.03
190068_1 Buchla - LEM 4 218 Snoopy
€4,191.60 *
Net price: €3,613.45
190531_1 Modal Electronics - Argon8
€598.00 *
Net price: €515.52
160198_1 Analogue Systems - Sorceror
€2,329.75 *
Net price: €2,008.41
190071_1 Buchla - Skylab
€15,109.24 *
Net price: €13,025.21
190065_1 Buchla - LEM 208
€4,084.37 *
Net price: €3,521.01
160004_1 Make Noise - 0-Coast
€515.66 *
Net price: €444.53
180178_1 Grp Synthesizer - A2
€1,461.21 *
Net price: €1,259.66
120765_1 Manikin Memotron m2k
€1,509.95 *
Net price: €1,301.68
HOT SHIT
180180_1 Five12 - Vector
€696.97 *
Net price: €600.84
HOT SHIT
190413_1 Polivoks - Polivoks Pro
€1,821.88 *
Net price: €1,570.59
190393_1 Sensel - Buchla Thunder Overlay
€68.00 *
Net price: €58.62
120215_1 Analogue Systems - Demon (with Joystick)
€1,652.27 *
Net price: €1,424.37
120193_1 ALM Busy Circuits - Pamela´s New Workout
€252.47 *
Net price: €217.65
180326_1 ACL - System 1
€3,596.97 *
Net price: €3,100.84
17010986_1 1010 Music - Bitbox MK2
€632.64 *
Net price: €545.38
190705_1 Moonmodular MOON 2VS: Two VoiceSynthesizer System
€5,066.96 *
Net price: €4,368.07
200072_1 ALM Busy Circuits - System Coupe
€2,113.34 *
Net price: €1,821.84
170199_1 RENTAL SYSTEM Schneidersladen Studio Edition
€146.22 *
Net price: €126.05
190665_1 Kodamo - EssenceFM
€1,266.25 *
Net price: €1,091.59
180367_1 Instruo - Harmonàig
€320.71 *
Net price: €276.47
160160_1 Future Retro - 512 Touch Keyboard
€827.60 *
Net price: €713.45
190511_1 Expert Sleepers - ES-9
€544.91 *
Net price: €469.75
190529_1 Erica Synths - Pico System III (Desktop)
€525.41 *
Net price: €452.94
180240_2 Soma - Pulsar-23
€1,740.00 *
Net price: €1,500.00
180021_1 Soma - Lyra-8 (White Angel)
€681.38 *
Net price: €587.40
121049_9 Teenage Engineering OP-1
€1,252.61 *
Net price: €1,079.84
180398_2 Teenage Engineering OP-Z
€554.66 *
Net price: €478.16
Viewed

Moog Matriarch

190246_1
2.198,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.847,06 €

inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Sofort verfügbar

  • 190246
Die Farbgebung ist sehr knallig und definitiv Geschmackssache. Sie sorgt aber für eine sehr... mehr
Produktinformationen "Moog Matriarch"

Die Moog Familiensaga geht weiter. Heute lernen wir das Oberhaupt kennen: Den wuchtigen Matriarch Synthesizer. Moog kompiliert im Matriarch ein „Best of“ seiner Schaltungen zu einem beeindruckenden bis zu vierstimmig paraphonen Synthesizer! Das Oszillator Design entstammt dabei dem Minimoog, der Mixer ist der bekannte, fett saturierende CP3. Auch das Stereo-Filter, die Hüllkurven und die VCAs entstammen dem Moog Modular, während das Analog Delay an das Moggerfooger MF-104M angelehnt ist. Die Signalführung ist dabei komplett analog und durchgehend in Stereo ausgelegt!

Die Farbgebung ist sehr knallig und definitiv Geschmackssache. Sie sorgt aber für eine sehr gute Übersicht. Diese ist absolut notwendig, denn auf dem Bedienfeld des Geräts befinden sich über 90 Patch-Buchsen! Der Matriarch ist mit seinen Normalisierungen / „Vorverkabelungen“ aber so angelegt, dass man sofort ohne Patchen loslegen kann.

Die Anordnung der Module und die Signalführung folgt bekannten Konzepten.

Klangerzeugung:

Der Kern der Klangerzeugung befindet sich in der Mitte: Neben den 4 Oszillatoren ist ein sechs-kanaliger Mischer, gefolgt von einem Dual-Filter (parallel - HP/LP, stereo - LP/LP, seriell - HP/LP), einer Utility Sektion (s.u.) und einer analogen Dual-ADSR. Der abschließende VCA ist logischerweise ganz rechts!

Zusammengefasst:

  • vier Oszillatoren mit Dreieck, Sägezahn, Pulswelle. Mit zusätzlicher linearer Frequenzmodulation und untereinander synchronisierbar (2-3-4).
  • Auf dem Moog CP3 basierender Mischer. Er ist gleichspannungsgekoppelt, kann also auch CVs verarbeiten und hat sechs Kanäle. Einer davon ist für die Integration externer Signale vorgesehen und mit der 6.35mm Mono-Klinkenbuchse an der Geräterückseite verbunden.
  • Ein Dual Filter mit Highpass und Lowpass, welches auf dem 904A Modul aus dem großen Moog Modular basiert.  Es kann seriell oder paralell verschaltet werden und somit auch als Stereo Filter benutzt werden.
  • Analoge vollwertige Dual ADSR mit „End of“ Gate-Ausgang. Vorgepatcht auf Filter und VCA.
  • Analoger Dual VCA mit Regler für die Hauptausgänge hinten am Gerät in 6.35mm / Line-Pegel, 3.5mm Eurorack-Pegel und Kopfhörerbuchse mit separater Lautstärkeregelung. In der VCA Sektion lässt sich per Schalter zwischen mono-, duo- und paraphoner Spielweise umschalten.

Modulationsquellen:

Links von den Oszillatoren finden sich Modulationsquellen: Ein großzügig ausgestatteter LFO mit sechs Wellenformen und die Keyboardsteuerung mit Arpeggiator und Sequenzer Funktionalität. Das Keyboard ist übrigens eine 49 Tasten (4 Oktaven) Tastatur von Fatar mit Velocity und Aftertouch. Links unten sind die Spielhilfen versammelt: Pitch- und Modulations-Rad, sowie ein Regler für die Portamento-Zeit. Der Arpeggiator ist simpel, aber effektiv: Order, Forward/Backward, Random stehen als Abspielmodi zur Verfügung. Der Sequenzer wiederum kann bis zu 256 Schritte aufnehmen. Polyphon mit bis zu vier Noten pro Schritt.

Unterstützt werden diese von einer Utility-Sektion mit zwei CV-kontrollierbaren Abschwächern/Invertern (aka Ringmodulatoren). Der Umstand, dass es sich um (Modulations-)VCAs/Ringmodulatoren handelt, erlaubt sehr komplexe Klangentwicklungen! Eine zweite Utility Sektion mit nur einem Ringmodulator, dafür aber einem (einfacher) ausgestatteten LFO, befindet sich zwischen dem Filter und der Dual Hüllkurve. Dieser LFO ist für die Modulation von z.B. Delay, Filter und VCA vorgesehen. In beiden Utility-Sektionen befindet sich im oberen Teil je ein ungepuffertes 4er Multiple um Signale aufzuteilen.

Delay-Effekt:

Dem VCA (ganz rechts) vorgelagert ist das Delay, welches in Stereo ausgeführt ist und auf wiederaufgelegten vintage Bucket Brigade Delay Chips basiert. Bedingt durch diese Technik ist die Delayzeit auf 700ms beschränkt. Es sind aber genau die mittellangen und vor allem sehr kurzen Zeiten, bei denen dieses Delay voll seine Stärken ausspielen kann. Entweder in parallell stereo oder als hin- und herspringendes Ping-Pong-Delay.

Patchen ist nicht notwendig um den Moog Matriarch zum Leben zu erwecken. Es wird aber mit schier unendlichen und wirklich ungehörten Klängen belohnt!

Externe Videos:

Weiterführende Links zu "Moog Matriarch"
"Moog Matriarch"
Der Matriarch auf der Moog-Webseite
Folgende Infos zur Brand sind verfügbar...... mehr
Moogmusic

Robert Arthur Moog ist wahrscheinlich der Erfinder des monophonen subtraktiven Synthesizers, wie wir ihn kennen. Er begann mit dem Bau von Theremins im Hinterland von New York und kam Mitte der 1960er Jahre mit einer Reihe von Künstlern in Kontakt, insbesondere mit Herb Deutsch, die ihn überzeugten, dem neuen Instrument ein Keyboard hinzuzufügen, ein Umstand, der den Moog-Synthesizer unter Musikern populär machte. Bob Moog verdanken wir die Erfindung des resonanten Low-pass Ladder Filters (der den typischen Moog-Sound liefert und sein einziges Patent war), sowie die ADSR-Hüllkurve, das Pitch- und Mod-Rad usw. 1971 wurde in dem Versuch, die Firma vor dem Bankrott zu retten, das Minimoog-Modell D als vereinfachte, tragbare, fest verdrahtete Version der großen modularen Systeme geboren, die zur Vorlage für viele zukünftige monophone Synthesizer wurde. Nach seinem Tod im Jahr 2002 ist Moog Music ein Unternehmen im Besitz von Mitarbeitern, das von Asheville, North Carolina, aus operiert.

180193_1 Moog Grandmother
915,00 € *
Nettopreis: 768,91 €
120215_1 Analogue Systems - Demon (with Joystick)
1.695,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.424,37 €
190593_1 MFB - Synth Pro
1.079,00 € *
Nettopreis: 906,72 €
190071_1 Buchla - Skylab
15.500,00 € *
Nettopreis: 13.025,21 €
180510_1 Arturia - Keystep
111,00 € *
Nettopreis: 93,28 €
HOT SHIT
NEW STUFF
200020_1 Black Corporation - Xerxes
3.990,00 € *
Nettopreis: 3.352,94 €
190413_1 Polivoks - Polivoks Pro
1.869,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.570,59 €
160268_1 Vermona ´14 Analogsynthesizer
2.349,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.973,95 €
120480_1 Doepfer PK88
869,00 € *
Nettopreis: 730,25 €
190590_1 The Division Department - 01/IV
639,00 € *
Nettopreis: 536,97 €
180511_1 Arturia - Keystep BE
119,00 € *
Nettopreis: 100,00 €
160198_1 Analogue Systems - Sorceror
2.390,00 € *
Nettopreis: 2.008,40 €
121065_1 Tiptop Audio Station 252 SILVER BULLET
1.759,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.478,15 €
190746_1 Modal Electronics - Argon8X
749,00 € *
Nettopreis: 629,41 €
200005_1 Arturia - Keystep Pro
399,00 € *
Nettopreis: 335,29 €
180178_1 Grp Synthesizer - A2
1.499,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.259,66 €
160160_1 Future Retro - 512 Touch Keyboard
849,00 € *
Nettopreis: 713,45 €
130059_1 Metasonix S-2000 Synthesizer
1.979,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.663,03 €
190004_1 Elektron - Octatrack MkII
1.298,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.090,76 €
190006_1 Elektron - Digitone
698,00 € *
Nettopreis: 586,55 €
120479_1 Doepfer LMK4+ (black)
1.479,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.242,86 €
120637_1 Vermona Retroverb Lancet
459,00 € *
Nettopreis: 385,71 €
120703_1 Dave Jones Design - O´Tool Plus
349,00 € *
Nettopreis: 293,28 €
120428_1 Cwejman S1 Mk2 analog synth weiß
3.770,00 € *
Nettopreis: 3.168,07 €
150189_1 WMD/SSF - Monolith Keyboard
2.490,00 € *
Nettopreis: 2.092,44 €
180135_1 Black Corporation - Deckard''s Dream
3.899,00 € *
Nettopreis: 3.276,47 €
150018_1 Acidlab - Drumatix
660,00 € *
Nettopreis: 554,62 €
180192_1 MFB - Tanzbär 2
979,00 € *
Nettopreis: 822,69 €
150258_1 Moog - Mother-32
575,00 € *
Nettopreis: 483,19 €
190665_1 Kodamo - EssenceFM
1.299,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.091,60 €
200011_1 Grendel - RA-99 Grenadier
579,00 € *
Nettopreis: 486,55 €
190745_1 Modal Electronics - Argon8M
569,00 € *
Nettopreis: 478,15 €
190578_1 SynMag Verlag - A Guide to Modular Worlds
29,99 € *
Nettopreis: 28,03 €
190643_1 VG Line - Ritm-2
898,00 € *
Nettopreis: 754,62 €
190647_1 Cable Puppy - Braided Patch Cable 15 cm...
12,00 € *
Nettopreis: 10,08 €
200034_1 Bubblesound HEXa(s)r (Black)
237,00 € *
Nettopreis: 199,16 €
200017_1 ACL - System 2
4.526,52 € *
Nettopreis: 3.803,80 €
130154_1 Moonmodular 501 D Dual VCO
624,00 € *
Nettopreis: 524,37 €
170263_1 Vermona - UniCycle
259,00 € *
Nettopreis: 217,65 €
Zuletzt angesehen