Buchla Music Easel

This product is not available anymore.
€3,898.18 *
Net price: €3,360.50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Not available anymore.

  • 130115
At the first glance the Easel looks confusing because of the too many switches, faders and many... more
Product information "Buchla Music Easel"

This legendary and sought-after Buchla synthesizer from the 200 series will be produced again after 40 years. There are some minor changes here and there but in general it´s pretty much the same as the original, a really well-though semi-modular instrument with great sound and lots of possibilities due to well-arranged patch points. The small sequencer and the touch keyboard with integrated arpeggiator invite to play the instrument directly and to interact with it what is great fun and can create interesting polyrhythmic patterns. MIDI functionality is limited to Note On/Off and to synchronisation of the arpeggiator to MIDI Clock. When synched to MIDI the arpeggiator rate control acts as clock dividion control and allows for triplets and ohter divisions.

At the first glance the Easel looks confusing because of the too many switches, faders and many sockests without legending but in the end everything makes sense and it's laid out very logically. The colors of sockets mostly match the function blocks of the Easel (purple = keyboard pressure, yellow = pulser, white = random, orange = envelope, blue = sequencer). The black sockets are CV inputs that are located always left of the according parameter. The sockets at the top of the unit have legending and are self-explaining. The position of most banana sockets below the faders has been chosen for the use of shorting bridges instead of patch cords which enhances clarity of your patch.

The sound generators of the Easel is basesd on a complex main oscillator and a modulation oscillator. The latter is generally used for modulating the main VCO but it can act as a second VCO and it will be routed into the 2nd Lopass Gate, see below.

The main oscillator can be tuned with the frequency fader over 5 octaves and the response to incoming CV can be changed with the +/- polarity switch. The wave form is depending on the sontrols in the timbre section: With timbre fader and timbre potentiometer set to zero we will get a sine wave. Turning up the timbre potentiometer the waveform blends to a sawtooth, a square or a triangle, depending on the switch. The timbre fader modifies this wave form by the use of a wave multipiler for sounds with high harmonic content.

The modulation oscillator has no timbre section, only switchable waveforms (saw, square or triangle). In HI mode it's a VCO, in LOW mode it's a LFO. It's frequency can be modulated also by the keyboard (switchable) or a CV. A switch determines how the modulation oscillator affects the main oscillator, either as a ring modulator, for amplitude modulation or for frequency modulation. The modulation intensity is set with the modulation fader but can be voltage controlled, too.

The oscillator(s) are processed with the Lopass Gates (LPGs). Those are vactrol-based circuits with organic behavoiur and can operate as lowpass filters, as VCAs (gate) or as a combination of both. The audio signal for the 1st LPG is always the main VCO. The second LPG is 180° phase shifted and has a flexible routing: either output of LPG1 (what creates highpass sounds due to the shifted phase), the modulation oscillator or an external audio signal. The outputs of the LPGs are mixed in the output section and their levels can be set separately. Behind the mixer there´s a real spring reverb with dry/wet control providing for more depth in the Easel´s sound when desired.

The Easel can be played with the touch keyboard and/or the sequencer. The keyboard senses the amount of skin touching it, resulting in a pseudo pressure sensitivity. It has a range of 2.5 octaves but you can transpose octaves with the four pads on the top right. While normal playing it senses one finger that determines the pitch, but when using the internal arpeggiator all fingers are analyzed. The arpeggiator has it´s own tempo control and cyn be synched to MIDI.

The Pulser is an impulse generator you can use as a clock source or as a second LFO. It can self-repeat or be triggered by key gate or the sequencer. The envelope is an AD or a ASR type, depending on the setting and can be triggered by the pulser, sequencer or the keyboard gate. The analog sequencer has three, four or five steps and features steps gate switches; it´s gate source can be the pulse or the keyboard gate. Interaction of the switch settings and the simulaneous keyboard play can result in really interesting poly-rhythmical structures.

The four touch pads mentioned above can´t only transpose the octaves; in "preset" setting four pre-set fixed voltages can be played to alter the pitch or other parameters.

Memory is possilbe as well; you need to copy all connections and fader positions by soldering resistors etc. on a PCB memory card. The Easel can either read the values of the memory card, settings of the face plate controls or a combination of BOTH, which gives you three sounds at the same time! A planned interface for iOS devices will simplify memory a lot.

External videos:
Related links to "Buchla Music Easel"
190526_1 Buchla - Easel Command
€3,197.31 *
Net price: €2,756.30
190527_1 Buchla - 208C
€2,777.18 *
Net price: €2,394.12
190065_1 Buchla - LEM 208
€4,084.37 *
Net price: €3,521.01
190068_1 Buchla - LEM 4 218 Snoopy
€4,191.60 *
Net price: €3,613.45
190071_1 Buchla - Skylab
€15,109.24 *
Net price: €13,025.21
190063_1 Buchla - Music Easel Aux Card
€867.56 *
Net price: €747.90
190069_1 Buchla - LEM 4 Snoopy
€3,314.29 *
Net price: €2,857.15
170199_1 RENTAL SYSTEM Schneidersladen Studio Edition
€146.22 *
Net price: €126.05
190067_1 Buchla - LEM 3 Spider
€3,889.41 *
Net price: €3,352.94
190070_1 Buchla - LEM 7 Aquarius
€1,218.49 *
Net price: €1,050.42
NEW STUFF
200188_1 Fine Gear - Dust Collector
€464.00 *
Net price: €400.00
190393_1 Sensel - Buchla Thunder Overlay
€68.00 *
Net price: €58.62
NEW STUFF
190278_1 Meng Qi - Wing Pinger
€1,362.76 *
Net price: €1,174.79
190594_1 Make Noise - Tape & Microsound Music Machine...
€2,436.00 *
Net price: €2,100.00
200072_1 ALM Busy Circuits - System Coupe
€2,113.34 *
Net price: €1,821.84
160284_1 Make Noise System Cartesian (incl. power cable)
€2,338.52 *
Net price: €2,015.97
HOT SHIT
180180_1 Five12 - Vector
€696.97 *
Net price: €600.84
180504_1 Endorphin.es - Shuttle System
From €2,241.04 *
Net price: €1,931.93
190392_1 Sensel - Morph
€288.00 *
Net price: €248.28
200017_1 ACL - System 2
€4,412.41 *
Net price: €3,803.80
190093_1 Buchla - 261e Complex Waveform Generator
€1,764.37 *
Net price: €1,521.01
190088_1 Buchla - 250e Arbitrary Function Generator
€1,618.15 *
Net price: €1,394.96
HOT SHIT
190413_1 Polivoks - Polivoks Pro
€1,821.88 *
Net price: €1,570.59
180240_2 Soma - Pulsar-23
€1,740.00 *
Net price: €1,500.00
120193_1 ALM Busy Circuits - Pamela´s New Workout
€252.47 *
Net price: €217.65
190102_1 Buchla - 296e Spectral Processor
€3,304.54 *
Net price: €2,848.74
170127_1 Landscape - Stereo Fields
€447.43 *
Net price: €385.72
180515_1 Eowave - Quadrantid Swarm
€535.16 *
Net price: €461.34
190090_1 Buchla - 252e Polyphonic Rhythm Generator
€3,119.33 *
Net price: €2,689.08
180154_1 Erica Synths - Techno System
€4,375.83 *
Net price: €3,772.27
200156_1 Twisted Electrons - Mega FM
€544.91 *
Net price: €469.75
190711_1 4ms Pod 64X HP (powered)
€180.34 *
Net price: €155.47
HOT SHIT
120751_1 Livewire - Audio Frequency Generator
€476.67 *
Net price: €410.92
180539_1 Koma Elektronik - Field Kit Standalone
€223.23 *
Net price: €192.44
160160_1 Future Retro - 512 Touch Keyboard
€827.60 *
Net price: €713.45
200183_1 JMT Synth - LD-1
€425.00 *
Net price: €366.38
180121_1 Leaf Audio - Microphonic Soundbox
€229.08 *
Net price: €197.48
120557_1 Endorphin.es - Furthrrrr Generator
From €632.64 *
Net price: €545.38
190380_1 Snyderphonics - Manta Bundle
€972.84 * €1,071.29 *
Net price: €838.66
200184_1 JMT Synth - UNVO-1
€380.00 *
Net price: €327.59
Viewed

Buchla Music Easel

Dieser Artikel ist leider nicht mehr verfügbar!
3.999,00 € *
Nettopreis: 3.360,50 €

inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Nicht mehr verfügbar.

  • 130115
Auf den ersten Blick wirkt der Easel wegen der vielen Schalter, Schieberegler und etlicher nicht... mehr
Produktinformationen "Buchla Music Easel"

Nach 40 Jahren wird dieser legendäre und gesuchte Buchla-Synthesizer aus der 200-Serie wieder neu gebaut. Es gibt ein paar kleine Änderungen hier und da, aber weitestgehend gleicht er dem Original, einem äußerst wohl durchdachtem Instrument mit großartigem Sound, sinnvoll gesetzten Patchpunkten. Der kleine Sequenzer und das Touchkeyboard mit Arpeggiator laden zum direkten Spiel und Interaktion mit dem Music Easel ein, was enorm Spaß macht und für herrliche Polyrhythmik sorgen kann. Die MIDI-Fähigkeiten beschränken sich auf Note On/Off und die Synchronisation des Arpeggiators zur MIDI Clock. Bei MIDI-Synchronisation dient der Arpegiator-Rate-Regler als Clockdivider und erlaubt auch Triolen etc.

Auf den ersten Blick wirkt der Easel wegen der vielen Schalter, Schieberegler und etlicher nicht beschrifteter Buchsen verwirrend, doch an sich ist alles sehr logisch aufgebaut. Die Farbe der Buchsen entspricht meist den Segmenten des Easels (violett = Druck des Keyboards, gelb = Pulser, weiß = random, orange = Hüllkurve, blau = Sequenzer). Die schwarzen Buchsen sind CV-Eingänge, die immer links vom zu steuernden Parameter liegen. Die Buchsen oben am Gerät sind beschriftet und damit selbsterklärend. Die Position der meisten Banananenbuchsen ist direkt unterhalb der Fader so gewählt, daß man keine Patchkabel braucht, sondern die mitgelieferten Kurzschluß-Brücken nutzen kann. Dies erhöht die Übersichtlichkeit eines Patches natürlich enorm.

Die Klangerzeugung des Music Easel basiert auf einem komplexen Hauptoszillator und einem Modulationsozillator. Letzterer wird üblicherweise zur Modulation des Hauptoszillators genutzt, kann aber auch als zweiter VCO verwendet werden und kann über das zweite Lopass Gate in den Signalweg geroutet werden, aber dazu unten mehr.

Der Hauptoszillator kann mit den Pitch Regler über 5 Oktaven gestimmt werden und sein Verhalten auf eine einkommende CV über den +/-Polaritätsschalter geändert werden. Die Wellenform ist von den zwei Timbre-Sektion abhängig. Ist der Timbre-Fader und auch der Timbre-Poti auf so hören wir einen Sinus. Dreht man den Timbre-Poti auf so wird (je nach Schalterstellung) zu einem Sägezahn, Rechteck oder Dreieck umgeblendet. Der Timbre-Fader wiederum modifiziert diese Wellenform mittels eines Wavemultipliers, der komplexe obertonreiche Klänge liefert.

Der Modulationsozillator hat keine Timbre-Sektion sondern nur umschaltbare Wellenformen (Säge, Rechteck und Dreieck). Er kann im Hi-Modus als VCO funktionieren und im Lo-Modus als LFO. Seine Frequenz ist spannungssteuerbar und kann auch vom Keyboard gespielt werden (schaltbar). Ein Kippschalter wählt wie der MO den Hauptoszillator moduliert, nach Art eines Ringmodulators, zur Amplitudenmodulation oder zur Frequenzmodulation. Die Intensität wird mit dem modulation-Fader eingestellt, kann aber wiederum auch CV-moduliert werden.

Der oder die Oszillatoren werden mit den Lopass Gates (LPG) bearbeitet. Diese sind Vactrol-basierte Schaltungen mit organischem Verhalten, die entweder als Tiefpassfilter, als VCA (gate) oder als Kombination aus beiden arbeiten können. Das Audiosignal des ersten LPGs ist immer der Hauptoszillator. Das zweite LPG ist um 180 in der Phase gedreht und hat ein flexibles Routing: entweder Ausgang des 1. LPGs (was durch die Phasendrehung Highpass-Klänge ermöglicht), der Modulationsozillator oder ein externes Audiosignal. Die Ausgänge der beiden LopassGates werden in der Output Section gemischt und sind separat im Pegel regelbar. Ein darauf folgender echter Federhall mit dry/wet-Regler verleiht dem Klang des Easels auf Wunsch etwas mehr Tiefe.

Gespielt werden kann der Easel mit dem Touch-Keyboard und/oder dem Sequenzer. Das Keyboard mißt die Auflagefläche deiner Haut und ist so pseudo-drucksensitiv. Es umfaßt zweieinhalb Oktaven, hat aber rechts oben Oktavwahl-Touchpads. Bei normalem Spiel wird jeweils nur ein Finger ausgewertet, das Keyboard kann aber auch mehrere Finger analysieren, was das Spiel mit dem internen Arpeggiator ermöglicht. Dieser hat seinen eigenen Temporegler.

Der Pulser ist ein Impulsgenerator, den man als Clockquelle oder als zweiten LFO nutzen kann. Er kann sich selber loopen oder vom Keyboard-Gate bzw. dem Sequenzer getriggert werden. Die Hüllkurve ist je nach Einstellung eine AD oder eine ASR-Hüllkurve und kann vom Pulser, dem Sequenzer oder dem Keyboard-Gate getriggert werden. Der Analogsequenzer hat 3, 4 oder 5 Steps und Gate-Schalter pro Step. Seine Triggerquelle kann der Pulser oder der Druck auf das Keyboard sein. Das Zusammenspiel der Verschaltungsoptionen und dem simultanen Spiel auf dem Keyboard kann sehr interessante rhythmische Ergebnisse liefern.

Die oben gennanten Touchpads können nicht nur die Grundstimmung in Oktaven transponieren - In der Schalterstellung "preset" können sie mit den vier Potis eingestellte Festspannungen abrufen, um die Tonhöhe zu ändern. Über den direkten Output kann man die Touchpads beliebig routen.

Speicherbarkeit ist möglich, dazu müssen alle Verbindungen und Faderstellungen auf Platinenkartennachgelötet werden. Der Easel kann aber entweder die Werte aus der Speicherkarte abrufen, oder die Einstellungen der Regler auf der Frontplatte oder eine Kombination aus beiden, sprich man hat sozusagen drei Sounds zur Auswahl! Ein geplantes Interface zur Verbindung mit iOS-Geräten wird die Speicherbarkeit deutlich vereinfachen.

Weiterführende Links zu "Buchla Music Easel"
190069_1 Buchla - LEM 4 Snoopy
3.998,00 € *
Nettopreis: 3.359,66 €
190063_1 Buchla - Music Easel Aux Card
890,00 € *
Nettopreis: 747,90 €
190064_1 Buchla - Music Easel Program Card
22,00 € *
Nettopreis: 18,49 €
190090_1 Buchla - 252e Polyphonic Rhythm Generator
3.248,00 € *
Nettopreis: 2.729,41 €
170353_1 Make Noise - Shared System Black / Gold Plus...
4.989,00 € *
Nettopreis: 4.192,44 €
190526_1 Buchla - Easel Command
3.280,00 € *
Nettopreis: 2.756,30 €
HOT SHIT
NEW STUFF
210546_1 UDO Audio - Super 6 Desktop
2.249,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.889,92 €
170199_1 VERLEIHSYSTEM Schneidersladen Studio Edition
150,00 € *
Nettopreis: 126,05 €
NEW STUFF
210575_1 Herbs and Stones - Gentle Wham!
628,00 € *
Nettopreis: 527,73 €
210476_1 Waveform Project - Gateway Oscilloscope...
168,00 € *
Nettopreis: 141,18 €
210068_1 Black Corporation - Deckard's Voice
748,00 € *
Nettopreis: 628,57 €
190393_1 Sensel - Buchla Thunder Overlay
68,00 € *
Nettopreis: 57,14 €
HOT SHIT
210239_1 Torso Electronics - T-1
525,00 € *
Nettopreis: 441,18 €
210059_1 Make Noise - Strega
598,00 € *
Nettopreis: 502,52 €
180240_1 Soma - Pulsar-23
ab 2.058,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.729,41 €
210436_1 Poly Effects - Hector
618,00 € *
Nettopreis: 519,33 €
200340_1 Mutable Instruments - Beads
289,00 € *
Nettopreis: 242,86 €
180504_1 Endorphin.es - Shuttle System
2.478,00 € *
Nettopreis: 2.082,35 €
190262_1 UDO Audio - Super 6 Keyboard
2.499,00 € *
Nettopreis: 2.100,00 €
HOT SHIT
200131_1 Meng Qi - Wing Pinger (Banana Version)
1.436,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.206,72 €
190602_1 Random Source - TKB
1.998,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.678,99 €
170312_1 Tasty Chips Electronics - GR-1
889,00 € *
Nettopreis: 747,06 €
210486_1 After Later Audio – Dirty Laundry
198,00 € *
Nettopreis: 166,39 €
210484_1 Blood Cells Audio - D.O.MIXX
240,00 € *
Nettopreis: 201,68 €
150011_1 XAOC Devices - Batumi
309,00 € *
Nettopreis: 259,66 €
210278_1 Sputnik Modular - Spectral Processor
739,00 € *
Nettopreis: 621,01 €
210045_1 ACL - System 2
4.600,00 € *
Nettopreis: 3.865,55 €
200350_1 Acid Rain Technology - Maestro
395,00 € *
Nettopreis: 331,93 €
HOT SHIT
200099_1 Divkid - Rnd Step
238,00 € *
Nettopreis: 200,00 €
HOT SHIT
190071_1 Buchla - Skylab
15.550,00 € *
Nettopreis: 13.067,23 €
160004_1 Make Noise - 0-Coast
529,00 € *
Nettopreis: 444,54 €
180515_1 Eowave - Quadrantid Swarm
549,00 € *
Nettopreis: 461,34 €
150303_1 Mutable Instruments - Rings
299,00 € *
Nettopreis: 251,26 €
160052_1 Verbos Electronics - Random Sampling
599,00 € *
Nettopreis: 503,36 €
120193_1 ALM Busy Circuits - Pamela's New Workout
288,00 € *
Nettopreis: 242,02 €
HOT SHIT
210337_1 Erica Synths - Sonic Potions LXR 2.0
578,00 € *
Nettopreis: 485,71 €
210034_1 Verbos Electronics - Designer Configuration...
5.895,00 € *
Nettopreis: 4.953,78 €
210033_1 Verbos Electronics - Performer Configuration...
6.278,00 € *
Nettopreis: 5.275,63 €
121024_2 Sequentix Cirklon basic
1.500,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.260,50 €
200087_1 4ms Ensemble Oscillator
328,00 € *
Nettopreis: 275,63 €
Zuletzt angesehen