Buchla - Easel Anniversary

This product is not available anymore.
€11,100.00 *
Net price: €9,327.73

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Not available anymore
 

  • 230355
The 50th Anniversary Collector’s Edition will only be made in the quantity ordered from... more
Product information "Buchla - Easel Anniversary"

To celebrate the half century appropriately, the Buchla Music Easel comes in the 50th Anniversary Collector's Edition with a gold keyboard and high-quality case.

The 50th Anniversary Collector’s Edition will only be made in the quantity ordered from July 1 to July 31 with expected delivery in late fall/early winter 2023.

The 50th Anniversary special edition Easel combines the 208C with the 218e V3 in a beautiful light blue Halliburton case. The 218e V3 has bright gold keys and the 208C has the beautiful old Rogan pots. The left panel with the inputs and outputs is kept traditional. There's a ground, sustain pedal input, as well as MIDI inputs and outputs. Furthermore, there are two separate USB-C ports to access the 208C and 218e V3 respectively. The USB port on the 208C is used to connect to the Program Manager and on the 218e V3 it is possible to upload new firmwares via this port. Of course, you'll also find the classic lamp connector as well as a nice VU meter to control the levels.

 

The Music Easel is an extremely well thought-out instrument with great sound and sensibly placed patch points. The small sequencer and touch keyboard with arpeggiator encourage direct play and interaction with the Music Easel, which is enormous fun and can deliver wonderful polyrhythms. When synched to MIDI the arpeggiator rate control acts as a clock division control and allows for triplets and other divisions.

At first glance, the Easel seems confusing because of the many switches, sliders and several unlabeled jacks, but in itself everything is very logically structured. The color of the sockets mostly corresponds to the segments of the Easel (purple = keyboard pressure, yellow = pulser, white = random, orange = envelope, blue = sequencer). The black sockets are CV inputs, which are always to the left of the parameter to be controlled. The sockets at the top of the unit are labeled and therefore self-explanatory. The position of most of the banana jacks is directly below the faders so that you don't need patch cables, but can use the included shorting bars. This of course increases the overall clarity of a patch enormously.

The sound generation of the Music Easel is based on a complex main oscillator and a modulation oscillator. The latter is usually used to modulate the main oscillator, but can also be used as a second VCO and can be routed into the signal path via the second Lopass Gate, but more on that below.

The main oscillator can be tuned over 5 octaves with the pitch controls and its response to an incoming CV can be changed via the +/-polarity switch. The waveform is dependent on two sections. If the Timbre fader and also the Waveshape pot is at zero position, we hear a sine wave. If we turn the Waveshape pot up, the waveform fades to a needle pulse, square or triangle (depending on the switch position). The Timbre fader, in turn, modifies this waveform by means of a wave-multiplier that delivers complex sounds rich in overtones.

The modulation oscillator has no timbre section but selectable waveforms (saw, square and triangle). It can function as a VCO in Hi mode and as an LFO in Lo mode. Its frequency is voltage controllable and can also be played from the keyboard (switchable). A toggle switch selects how the MO modulates the main oscillator, ring modulator style, for amplitude modulation or frequency modulation. The intensity is set with the modulation fader, but again can be CV modulated.

The oscillator(s) are processed with the Lopass Gates (LPG). These are Vactrol-based circuits with organic behavior that can operate either as a low-pass filter, a VCA (gate), or a combination of both. The audio signal of the first LPG is always the main oscillator. The second LPG is rotated 180 in phase and has flexible routing: either output of the 1st LPG (which allows highpass sounds due to the phase rotation), the modulation oscillator, or an external audio signal. The outputs of the two Lopass gates are mixed in the Output section and are separately adjustable in level. A following real spring reverb with dry/wet control adds some more depth to the sound of the Easel if desired.

The Easel can be played with the touch keyboard and/or the sequencer. The keyboard measures the contact surface of your skin and is thus pseudo-pressure sensitive. It covers two and a half octaves, but has octave selection touchpads on the upper right. In normal play, only one finger is evaluated at a time, but the keyboard can analyze multiple fingers, allowing play with the internal arpeggiator for example. This has its own tempo control.

The pulser is a pulse generator that can be used as a clock source or as a second LFO. It can loop itself or be triggered by the keyboard gate or the sequencer. The envelope is an AD or an ASR envelope depending on the setting and can be triggered by the pulser, the sequencer or the keyboard gate. The analog sequencer has 3, 4 or 5 steps and gate switches per step. Its trigger source can be the pulser or the pressure on the keyboard. The interaction of the interconnection options with simultaneous playing on the keyboard can give very interesting rhythmic results.

The touchpads mentioned above can not only transpose the basic tuning in octaves - In the switch position "preset" they can call up fixed voltages set with the four pots to change the pitch. Via the direct output you can route the touchpads as you like.

For its 50th birthday, the Easel is available in three versions. The Retro Version, the Modern Version and this 50th Anniversary Collector's Edition.

Included only with the Anniversary Edition are these exclusive items:

  • Limited Edition Easel Weasel silkscreen print (24” x 15”) signed and numbered by the original artist Jim Phillips
  • 12” LP of Electric Weasel Ensemble from Important Records in a unique vinyl color
  • Hardcover Edition of Allen Strange’s “Electronic Music: Systems, Techniques, and Controls”
  • Collector’s book that includes a reprint of original 1974 “Easel Operating Directive” manual by Allen Strange and writings by original Electric Weasel Ensemble member Stephen Ruppenthal and others.
  • Special edition artist-designed Retro Preset cards from artists including Todd Barton, Suzanne Ciani, and others. Featuring new, unique graphics on each card.
  • Program Manager loaded with presets as described in original 1974 Easel Directive.

External videos:


Related links to "Buchla - Easel Anniversary"
"Buchla - Easel Anniversary"
Anniversary Easel @Buchla
230356_1 Buchla - Easel Retro
€5,598.00 *
Net price: €4,704.20
230357_1 Buchla - Easel Modern
€5,598.00 *
Net price: €4,704.20
190526_1 Buchla - Easel Command
€3,280.00 *
Net price: €2,756.30
130115_1 Buchla Music Easel
€3,999.00 *
Net price: €3,360.50
190071_1 Buchla - Skylab
€17,990.00 *
Net price: €15,117.65
240215_1 Arturia - MiniFreak Stellar Edition
€579.00 *
Net price: €486.55
230020_1 Buchla - LEM218 Touch Activated Keyboard
€1,420.00 *
Net price: €1,193.28
240231_1 Arturia - PolyBrute 12
€3,899.00 *
Net price: €3,276.47
240198_1 Intellijel Designs - Cascadia (White Fog)
€2,218.00 *
Net price: €1,863.87
230423_1 Elta Music - Solar 42F
€2,150.00 *
Net price: €1,806.72
240170_1 After Later Audio - Adventure 7U/104HP Case
€729.00 *
Net price: €612.61
220327_1 Rhodes MK8 incl. FX Panel (black/silver)
€12,250.00 *
Net price: €10,294.12
190527_1 Buchla - 208C
€2,850.00 *
Net price: €2,394.96
HOT SHIT
240228_1 ALM Busy Circuits - MFX Pedal
€379.00 *
Net price: €318.49
240233_1 Dreadbox - Murmux Adept Edition
€2,699.00 *
Net price: €2,268.07
230368_1 Kiviak Instruments - WoFI
€798.00 *
Net price: €670.59
240230_1 Pittsburgh Modular - Voltage Lab 2
€2,149.00 *
Net price: €1,805.88
240154_1 Erica Synths - Perkons
€1,690.00 * €1,890.00 *
Net price: €1,420.17
220198_1 Elektron - Syntakt
€959.00 *
Net price: €805.88
210782_1 Mayer EMI - MD900
€3,220.00 *
Net price: €2,705.88
180179_1 Grp Synthesizer - A4
€6,275.00 *
Net price: €5,273.11
160198_1 Analogue Systems - Sorceror
€2,690.00 *
Net price: €2,260.50
120269_1 Analogue Systems - French Connection
€3,590.00 *
Net price: €3,016.81
240192_1 Oberheim - TEO-5
€1,599.00 *
Net price: €1,343.70
120456_1 Cwejman VCO-2RM
€998.00 *
Net price: €838.66
230444_1 Worng Electronics - SoundStage II
€388.00 *
Net price: €326.05
230421_1 Sequential - Trigon-6 Desktop
€2,798.00 *
Net price: €2,351.26
230297_1 UDO Audio - Super 6 Keyboard White SE
€2,699.00 *
Net price: €2,268.07
220627_1 Sequential - Trigon-6 Keyboard
€3,280.00 * €3,770.00 *
Net price: €2,756.30
HOT SHIT
NEW STUFF
240243_1 Melbourne Instruments - DELIA
€2,640.00 *
Net price: €2,218.49
240240_1 Erica Synths - Bullfrog XL (EU Plug)
€2,049.00 *
Net price: €1,721.85
240226_1 Body Synths - Metal Fetishist
€429.00 *
Net price: €360.50
240224_1 Arturia - MicroFreak Stellar Edition
€349.00 *
Net price: €293.28
170009_1 Cwejman MBC-3
€1,300.00 *
Net price: €1,092.44
HOT SHIT
230719_1 GS Music - e7 Analog Polyphonic Synthesizer
€2,098.00 *
Net price: €1,763.03
230638_1 Serge Modular - Paperface 50 System Console...
€7,640.00 *
Net price: €6,420.17
230549_1 Boredbrain Music - Terminal v2
€129.00 *
Net price: €108.40
230359_1 Floatingpoint Instruments - Multiclock
€568.00 *
Net price: €477.31
230409_1 Serge Modular - Paperface 50 System...
€5,558.00 *
Net price: €4,670.59
Viewed

Buchla - Easel Anniversary

11.100,00 € *
Nettopreis: 9.327,73 €

inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Verfügbar auf Anfrage
 

  • 230355
Die 50th Anniversary Collector's Edition wird nur in der vom 1. Juli bis 31. Juli bestellten... mehr
Produktinformationen "Buchla - Easel Anniversary"

Um das halbe Jahrhundert angemessen zu feiern, kommt der Buchla Music Easel in der 50th Anniversary Collector’s Edition mit goldenem Keyboard und hochwertigem Koffer.

Die 50th Anniversary Collector's Edition wird nur in der vom 1. Juli bis 31. Juli bestellten Menge hergestellt und voraussichtlich im Spätherbst/Frühwinter 2023 ausgeliefert.

Die Sonderedition zum 50. Geburtstag des Easel verbindet den 208C mit dem 218e V3 in einem schicken hellblauen Halliburton Koffer. Der 218e V3 hat strahlende, goldene Tasten und der 208C die schönen alten Rogan Potis. Das linke Panel mit den Ein- und Ausgängen ist traditionell gehalten. Es gibt eine Erdung, einen Sustain Pedal Eingang, sowie MIDI-Ein- und Ausgänge. Weiterhin sind zwei separate USB-C Anschlüsse vorhanden, um jeweils auf den 208C und 218e V3 zugreifen zu können. Der USB-Anschluss des 208C dient der Verbindung zum Program Manager und beim 218e V3 ist es hierüber möglich neue Firmwares aufzuspielen. Natürlich findet man auch hier sowohl den klassischen Lampenanschluss, als auch ein schönes VU-Meter zur Kontrolle der Level.

 

Der Music Easel ist ein äußerst wohl durchdachtes Instrument mit großartigem Sound, sinnvoll gesetzten Patchpunkten. Der kleine Sequenzer und das Touchkeyboard mit Arpeggiator laden zum direkten Spiel und zur Interaktion mit dem Music Easel ein, was enormen Spaß macht und für herrliche Polyrhythmik sorgen kann. Bei MIDI-Synchronisation dient der Arpeggiator-Rate-Regler als Clock Divider und erlaubt auch Triolen etc.

Auf den ersten Blick wirkt der Easel wegen der vielen Schalter, Schieberegler und etlicher nicht beschrifteter Buchsen verwirrend, doch an sich ist alles sehr logisch aufgebaut. Die Farbe der Buchsen entspricht meist den Segmenten des Easels (violett = Druck des Keyboards, gelb = Pulser, weiß = random, orange = Hüllkurve, blau = Sequenzer). Die schwarzen Buchsen sind CV-Eingänge, die immer links vom zu steuernden Parameter liegen. Die Buchsen oben am Gerät sind beschriftet und damit selbsterklärend. Die Position der meisten Bananenbuchsen ist direkt unterhalb der Fader so gewählt, dass man keine Patchkabel braucht, sondern die mitgelieferten Shorting Bars nutzen kann. Dies erhöht die Übersichtlichkeit eines Patches natürlich enorm.

Die Klangerzeugung des Music Easel basiert auf einem komplexen Hauptoszillator und einem Modulationsoszillator. Letzterer wird üblicherweise zur Modulation des Hauptoszillators genutzt, kann aber auch als zweiter VCO verwendet werden und kann über das zweite Lopass Gate in den Signalweg geroutet werden, aber dazu unten mehr.

Der Hauptoszillator kann mit den Pitch Reglern über 5 Oktaven gestimmt werden und sein Verhalten auf eine einkommende CV über den +/-Polaritätsschalter geändert werden. Die Wellenform ist von zwei Sektionen abhängig. Ist der Timbre-Fader und auch der Waveshape-Poti auf Nullstellung, so hören wir einen Sinus. Dreht man den Waveshape-Poti auf, so wird die Wellenform (je nach Schalterstellung) zu einem Nadelpuls, Rechteck oder Dreieck übergeblendet. Der Timbre-Fader wiederum modifiziert diese Wellenform mittels eines Wavemultipliers, der komplexe obertonreiche Klänge liefert.

Der Modulationsoszillator hat keine Timbre-Sektion sondern nur umschaltbare Wellenformen (Säge, Rechteck und Dreieck). Er kann im Hi-Modus als VCO funktionieren und im Lo-Modus als LFO. Seine Frequenz ist spannungssteuerbar und kann auch vom Keyboard gespielt werden (schaltbar). Ein Kippschalter wählt wie der MO den Hauptoszillator moduliert, nach Art eines Ringmodulators, zur Amplitudenmodulation oder zur Frequenzmodulation. Die Intensität wird mit dem modulation-Fader eingestellt, kann aber wiederum auch CV-moduliert werden.

Der oder die Oszillatoren werden mit den Lopass Gates (LPG) bearbeitet. Diese sind Vactrol-basierte Schaltungen mit organischem Verhalten, die entweder als Tiefpassfilter, als VCA (gate) oder als Kombination aus beiden arbeiten können. Das Audiosignal des ersten LPGs ist immer der Hauptoszillator. Das zweite LPG ist um 180 in der Phase gedreht und hat ein flexibles Routing: entweder Ausgang des 1. LPGs (was durch die Phasendrehung Highpass-Klänge ermöglicht), der Modulationsoszillator oder ein externes Audiosignal. Die Ausgänge der beiden Lopass Gates werden in der Output Sektion gemischt und sind separat im Pegel regelbar. Ein darauf folgender echter Federhall mit dry/wet-Regler verleiht dem Klang des Easels auf Wunsch etwas mehr Tiefe.

Gespielt werden kann der Easel mit dem Touch-Keyboard und/oder dem Sequenzer. Das Keyboard misst die Auflagefläche deiner Haut und ist so pseudo-drucksensitiv. Es umfasst zweieinhalb Oktaven, hat aber rechts oben Oktavwahl-Touchpads. Bei normalem Spiel wird jeweils nur ein Finger ausgewertet, das Keyboard kann aber auch mehrere Finger analysieren, was das Spiel mit dem internen Arpeggiator ermöglicht. Dieser hat seinen eigenen Temporegler.

Der Pulser ist ein Impulsgenerator, den man als Clock-Quelle oder als zweiten LFO nutzen kann. Er kann sich selber loopen oder vom Keyboard-Gate bzw. dem Sequenzer getriggert werden. Die Hüllkurve ist je nach Einstellung eine AD oder eine ASR-Hüllkurve und kann vom Pulser, dem Sequenzer oder dem Keyboard-Gate getriggert werden. Der Analogsequenzer hat 3, 4 oder 5 Steps und Gate-Schalter pro Step. Seine Triggerquelle kann der Pulser oder der Druck auf das Keyboard sein. Das Zusammenspiel der Verschaltungsoptionen mit dem simultanen Spiel auf dem Keyboard kann sehr interessante rhythmische Ergebnisse liefern.

Die oben genannten Touchpads können nicht nur die Grundstimmung in Oktaven transponieren - In der Schalterstellung "preset" können sie mit den vier Potis eingestellte Festspannungen abrufen, um die Tonhöhe zu ändern. Über den direkten Output kann man die Touchpads beliebig routen.

Zum 50. Geburtstag gibt es den Easel in drei Versionen. Die Retro Version, die Modern Version und diese 50th Anniversary Collector´s Edition.

Nur in der Anniversary Edition sind exclusiv enthalten:

  • Limitierter Easel Weasel-Siebdruck (24" x 15"), signiert und nummeriert von Jim Phillips
  • 12"-LP des Electric Weasel Ensemble von Important Records auf farbigen Vinyl
  • Gebundene Ausgabe von Allen Strange's "Electronic Music: Systems, Techniques, and Controls"
  • "Collector's Book", das einen Nachdruck des Original-Handbuchs "Easel Operating Directive" von Allen Strange aus dem Jahr 1974 sowie Schriften des ursprünglichen Electric Weasel Ensemble-Mitglieds Stephen Ruppenthal und anderer enthält.
  • Von Künstlern wie Todd Barton, Suzanne Ciani und anderen gestaltete Retro-Preset-Karten als Sonderausgabe. Mit neuen, einzigartigen Grafiken auf jeder Karte.
  • Programm-Manager mit Presets, wie in der Original "Easel Directive" von 1974 beschrieben.

Externe Videos:


Weiterführende Links zu "Buchla - Easel Anniversary"
"Buchla - Easel Anniversary"
Anniversary Easel @Buchla
Folgende Infos zur Brand sind verfügbar...... mehr
Buchla U.S.A.

Als Pionier des Synthesizer-Designs seit Mitte der 1960er Jahre mit Morton Subotnick und dem San Francisco Tape Center war Don Buchla unter anderem für die Erfindung des Sequenzers, des Lopass Gates, der Zufallsspannungsgeneratoren und des komplexen Oszillators verantwortlich. Kurz vor seinem Tod im Jahr 2016 wurden seine Rechte von der australischen Holdinggesellschaft BEMI (2012-2017) erworben und werden seit 2018 von Eric Fox von Buchla USA mit Sitz in Minnesota betrieben. Buchla USA bietet den gesamten Katalog und die Boote der Serie 200e sowie den ikonische Music Easel an. 

230356_1 Buchla - Easel Retro
5.598,00 € *
Nettopreis: 4.704,20 €
230357_1 Buchla - Easel Modern
5.598,00 € *
Nettopreis: 4.704,20 €
240132_1 Vongon - Replay
1.049,00 € *
Nettopreis: 881,51 €
240098_1 Arturia - MatrixBrute NOIR Edition
1.789,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.503,36 €
190526_1 Buchla - Easel Command
3.280,00 € *
Nettopreis: 2.756,30 €
230619_1 Nonlinear Labs - C15 (cherry wood) w/ Flight Case
5.180,00 € *
Nettopreis: 4.352,94 €
190063_1 Buchla - Music Easel Aux Card
890,00 € *
Nettopreis: 747,90 €
240147_1 BLL Instruments - Elyra
1.199,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.007,56 €
230620_1 Nonlinear Labs - C15 (black) w/Flight Case
4.730,00 € *
Nettopreis: 3.974,79 €
240215_1 Arturia - MiniFreak Stellar Edition
579,00 € *
Nettopreis: 486,55 €
190071_1 Buchla - Skylab
17.990,00 € *
Nettopreis: 15.117,65 €
NEW STUFF
240231_1 Arturia - PolyBrute 12
3.899,00 € *
Nettopreis: 3.276,47 €
240198_1 Intellijel Designs - Cascadia (White Fog)
2.218,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.863,87 €
240173_1 Haken Audio - Slim Continuum 70s8x
8.098,00 € *
Nettopreis: 6.805,04 €
230503_1 Elaphon - Œil Sympathique
3.198,00 € *
Nettopreis: 2.687,39 €
230020_1 Buchla - LEM218 Touch Activated Keyboard
1.420,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.193,28 €
220109_1 ASM - Hydrasynth Explorer
535,00 € *
Nettopreis: 449,58 €
240170_1 After Later Audio - Adventure 7U/104HP Case
729,00 € *
Nettopreis: 612,61 €
240148_1 Meng Qi - Honey
46,00 € *
Nettopreis: 38,66 €
240081_1 Teaching Machines - Wellspring (Stereo Spring...
1.700,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.428,57 €
230423_1 Elta Music - Solar 42F
2.150,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.806,72 €
130115_1 Buchla Music Easel
3.999,00 € *
Nettopreis: 3.360,50 €
190527_1 Buchla - 208C
2.850,00 € *
Nettopreis: 2.394,96 €
240128_1 APB - ProSpec 1U8M
1.270,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.067,23 €
240131_1 Pittsburgh Modular - Taiga Keyboard
1.299,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.091,60 €
230368_1 Kiviak Instruments - WoFI
798,00 € *
Nettopreis: 670,59 €
220327_1 Rhodes MK8 incl. FX Panel (black/silver)
12.250,00 € *
Nettopreis: 10.294,12 €
NEW STUFF
240230_1 Pittsburgh Modular - Voltage Lab 2
2.149,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.805,88 €
240233_1 Dreadbox - Murmux Adept Edition
2.699,00 € *
Nettopreis: 2.268,07 €
240154_1 Erica Synths - Perkons
1.965,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.651,26 €
240172_1 Haken Audio - Slim Continuum 46s8x
5.998,00 € *
Nettopreis: 5.040,34 €
NEW STUFF
240130_1 Motas Electronics - Motas-6
1.490,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.252,10 €
220650_1 ASM - Hydrasynth Desktop
849,00 € *
Nettopreis: 713,45 €
240100_1 Arturia - PolyBrute NOIR
2.199,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.847,90 €
230616_1 Torso Electronics - S-4
859,00 € *
Nettopreis: 721,85 €
230408_1 Serge Modular - Paperface 50 System (Helios/TKB)
5.068,00 € *
Nettopreis: 4.258,82 €
230009_1 OTO - BÉBÉ CHÉRIE
769,00 € *
Nettopreis: 646,22 €
220671_1 Leaf Audio - Microphonic Playground
98,00 € *
Nettopreis: 82,35 €
220581_1 ALM Busy Circuits - Pamela's PRO Workout
318,00 € *
Nettopreis: 267,23 €
220198_1 Elektron - Syntakt
959,00 € *
Nettopreis: 805,88 €
Zuletzt angesehen