Black Corporation - Kijimi

€4,093.14 *
Net price: €3,528.57

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

In stock

  • 190235
Kijimi has no effects, no sequencer, no mega multi-stage envelopes and no special... more
Product information "Black Corporation - Kijimi"

Kijimi is a modern eight voice polyphonic analogue synthesizer with a very nuanced, excellent sound. It has a simple, fully analog audio signal path and a complex, but always very clear modulation section. The source of inspiration for it is a mythical legend from late 70ies France: the RSF Polykobol. Control elements, sound generation principles and also strange peculiarities can be recognized immediately in the Kijimi. However, it is not a clone, but a wonderfully made new interpretation!

Kijimi has no effects, no sequencer, no mega multi-stage envelopes and no special filters(banks). It is divided into two sections: A finely tuned sound generation section and a complex modulation section. There are knobs and switches for all important parameters relevant to immediate playing and shaping.

For everything else there is an unobtrusive and (rather) small OLED display with 128*64 pixels. It is available for editing parameters such as tuning, quantization, behaviour and frequency range of the LFOs. The management of the 384 presets can also be done here. The same goes for the extensive MIDI settings, which also allow support for MPE! Via the USB port on the back the firmware can be updated. Also new features can and will be added in the future.

Sound generation section:

Kijimi is a synthesizer with two oscillators (plus suboscillator for Osc1), low pass filter, VCA, two envelopes and two LFOs. This is all in the right part of the Kijimi. This seems quite simple at first glance, but it is the details and the interaction of the individual components that create the outstanding basic sound of the Kijimi. Among other things, it has the ability to "sit" correctly in mix and situation.

The influences of the Polykobol are noticeable in many places and this starts directly with the oscillators. These have discrete wave shapers and allow infinitely variable wave shapes. From triangle to pulse wave. At the very end of the controller, the oscillator then jumps to pulse wave with PWM. Kijimi is not the only synthesizer that has this feature, but here it results in a real highlight, because its waveshapers can be adjusted very fine and nuanced …and of course they can be modulated.

 Also some rather weird features of the Polykobol made it to the Kijimi: The volume of Osc1 and noise can only be selected in three steps (1/3, 2/3, 1/3+2/3 = 1). But Osc2 is continuosly variable. The same applies to the suboscillator, which is derived from Osc1 and always plays a pulse wave one octave lower. Via dedicated switches the oscillators can be synchronized and also detached from keyboard pitch control. Furthermore Osc2 can be continuously detuned from Osc1 via another dedicated control. However, the potentiometers for "Frequency" / coarse tuning are rasterized in halftone steps. This is actually practical. But you have to get used to it first.

With the waveshapers alone you can achieve very beautiful timbremovements. Additionally, there is a low pass filter. It is not the SSM2040 from the Kobol, but a variant of the 2044. With a slope steepness of 12db/oct it is a soft filter, but never blurry. On the contrary: Filter-FM sounds show its great agility. Its kind fits exactly to the nuances provided by the oscillators and their waveshapers. Within the filter section there are "directly on site" many controls with which the modulation depth of e.g. the envelope, the velocity, the aftertouch can be adjusted in order to control cutoff or resonance.

The second envelope is intended for the filter and as a modulation source for pitch and waveshape of Osc1 and 2, while the first envelope is solely responsible for the VCA, i.e. the volume level. Both are designed as ADSR envelopes, whereby the envelope behaviour is very articulated and the times can be very fast. In the normal setting, the end is sometimes (too) short. Therefore, there is another switch between the two ADSRs by which the times can be multiplied by a factor of 2, 3 or 4. Another switch activates "cycle", i.e. envelope looping. This is beautifully done in the style of old EMS synths as a trapezoid generator. "Sustain" no longer adjusts the level, but the time over which the maximum level is held. To the right of the envelopes there is a control for the overall volume and one for the portamento or glissando time.

Modulation section:

The LFOs as "main modulators" take up as much space as the oscillator section. Each of the two is switchable between the classical waveforms (sine to pulse wave and random). Here the waveforms are (unfortunately) not morphable. Each LFO, however, can be combined with a simple attack release envelope that affects its volume / intensity. This means that in this section elegant LFO fade ins and outs can be realized very easily. These can then be sent to the modulation destinations such as waveshape (!), filter cutoff / resonance and subosc level. Btw: The speed of the LFOs can in turn be modulated by the velocity and aftertouch! The factory setting is from 0.1 to 100Hz. However, it can be adjusted up and way down via the menu.

Even further to the left is the second core section of the Kijimi: the modulation section. The way modulations are assigned and controlled is (again) clearly inspired by the Polykobol.

In the upper area there is one control each for LFO1, LFO2 and ADSR2 and to the right of it a row of switches. Use the slider to adjust the modulation depth and use the switches to assign the destination.

Each switch has two LEDs: green and red. Green stands for positive / unipolar, red for negative / unipolar modulation. If both are on ...the modulation is bipolar. Totally plausible, very fast to operate, always precise to control and extremely powerful. Of course, any combination of one, several or all destination in uni- or bipolar can be selected.

Osc2 as source behaves somewhat differently. Here there are two controls for the depth of influence on Osc1 (FM!) or Filter (Filter-FM!!). The latter in particular demonstrates the agility of the filter in an impressive way.

Velocity and aftertouch are also modulation sources. For these two parameters there is one control per destination. This allows a very (!) expressive play with extremely fine nuances.

It is the interaction of the individual elements, the exact behaviour and the ranges of the potentiometers, the clarity and possibilities of the modulation matrix paired with the fantastic sound - in short: The whole package! that make the Kijimi a great synthesizer. Now also ready for testing in our showroom in Berlin / Kottbusser Tor!

External videos:

Related links to "Black Corporation - Kijimi"
180135_1 Black Corporation - Deckard''s Dream
€3,800.71 *
Net price: €3,276.47
200043_1 Macbeth X-Series Mk2 Dual Oscillator
€1,256.50 *
Net price: €1,083.19
NEW STUFF
200072_1 ALM Busy Circuits - System Coupe
€2,113.34 *
Net price: €1,821.84
130115_1 Buchla Music Easel
€3,898.18 *
Net price: €3,360.50
190443_1 Black Corporation - Deckard''s Dream Expander
€1,363.73 *
Net price: €1,175.63
180446_1 Alright Devices - Chronoblob 2
€359.70 *
Net price: €310.09
HOT SHIT
NEW STUFF
200092_1 Make Noise - 0-CTRL
€427.93 *
Net price: €368.91
NEW STUFF
200068_1 Moonmodular 6FB Six Band Voltage Controlled...
€3,117.38 *
Net price: €2,687.40
HOT SHIT
190603_1 Sector Sieben - Berliner Road Case XXL (Black)
€1,168.77 *
Net price: €1,007.56
HOT SHIT
170011_1 Future Retro - XS
€1,160.00 *
Net price: €1,000.00
200044_1 Macbeth X-Series Mk2 Backend Filter
€1,256.50 *
Net price: €1,083.19
HOT SHIT
190413_1 Polivoks - Polivoks Pro
€1,821.88 *
Net price: €1,570.59
HOT SHIT
NEW STUFF
200087_1 4ms Ensemble Oscillator
€319.73 *
Net price: €275.63
180402_1 ACL - Multi-Function Discrete VCO
€838.32 *
Net price: €722.69
NEW STUFF
200093_1 Erica Synths - Desktop Bassline DB-1
€534.18 *
Net price: €460.50
NEW STUFF
190666_1 Grp Synthesizer - Vocoder V22
€3,800.71 *
Net price: €3,276.47
190671_1 Divkid - øchd
€170.59 *
Net price: €147.06
130413_1 MFB - Dominion 1
€1,345.21 *
Net price: €1,159.66
180508_1 Dreadbox - Erebus V3
€486.42 *
Net price: €419.33
160227_1 Rossum Electro-Music - Assimil8or
€914.35 *
Net price: €788.23
NEW STUFF
200083_1 Vermona MeloDICER
€418.18 *
Net price: €360.50
190016_1 Michigan Synth Works - uO_C
€252.47 *
Net price: €217.65
HOT SHIT
190711_1 4ms Pod 64X HP (powered)
€180.34 *
Net price: €155.47
190156_1 Rare Waves - Hydronium
€427.93 *
Net price: €368.91
190560_1 Bastl Instruments - Microgranny 2
€193.01 *
Net price: €166.39
190558_1 Bastl Instruments - Kastl V1.5
€91.63 *
Net price: €78.99
NEW STUFF
200110_1 ACL - Mini Midi
€290.49 *
Net price: €250.42
120274_9 Analogue Solutions Telemark v2
€950.42 *
Net price: €819.33
190316_1 Endorphin.es - Godspeed
€252.47 *
Net price: €217.65
190373_1 Intellijel Designs - Palette 62
€301.21 *
Net price: €259.66
190049_1 Lorre Mill - Keyed Mosstone
€525.41 *
Net price: €452.94
170020_1 Make Noise - Morphagene
€554.66 *
Net price: €478.16
120765_1 Manikin Memotron m2k
€1,509.95 *
Net price: €1,301.68
130477_1 Expert Sleepers - Disting Mk4
€151.09 *
Net price: €130.25
150233_1 OTO - BIM
€492.27 *
Net price: €424.37
160097_1 OTO - BAM
€492.27 *
Net price: €424.37
190311_1 Endorphin.es - Ground Control
€535.16 *
Net price: €461.34
190006_1 Elektron - Digitone
€680.40 *
Net price: €586.55
190149_1 Dreadbox - Hypnosis
€427.93 *
Net price: €368.91
Viewed

Black Corporation - Kijimi

4.093,14 € *
Nettopreis: 3.528,57 €

inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Sofort verfügbar

  • 190235
Kijimi hat keine Effekte, keinen Sequenzer, keine Mega-Multistage-Hüllkurven und... mehr
Produktinformationen "Black Corporation - Kijimi"

Kijimi ist ein moderner acht-stimmig polyphoner Analogsynthesizer mit einem sehr nuancierten, exzellenten Klang. Er hat eine einfache, vollanaloge Audiosignalführung und eine komplexe, aber stets übersichtliche Modulationssektion. Als Inspirationsquelle diente eine mythische Legende aus dem Frankreich der späten 70er Jahre: Der RSF Polykobol. Bedienelemente, Klangerzeugungsprinzipien und auch seltsame Eigenarten lassen sich im Kijimi sofort wiedererkennen. Er ist dabei aber kein Klon, sondern eine wunderbar gemachte Neuinterpretation!

Kijimi hat keine Effekte, keinen Sequenzer, keine Mega-Multistage-Hüllkurven und Spezialfilter(bänke). Er unterteilt sich in zwei Bereiche: Eine fein aufeinander abgestimmte Klangerzeugung und eine komplexe Modulationssektion. Für alle wichtigen, im direkten Schrauben und Spielen relevanten Parameter gibt es Regler bzw. Schalter.

Für alles weitere gibt es ein unauffälliges und (ziemlich) kleines OLED-Display mit 128*64 Pixeln. Es steht für die Editierung von Feineinstellungen wie z.B. Tuning, Quantisierung, Verhalten und Frequenzumfang der LFOs zur Verfügung. Auch die Verwaltung der 384 Presets kann hier vorgenommen werden. Ebenso die umfangreichen MIDI Einstellungen, die auch die Unterstützung von MPE erlauben! Die Firmware kann über den USB Port aktualisiert werden und für die Zukunft sind auch schon Verbesserungen und Erweiterungen angekündigt.

Klangerzeugung:

Kijimi ist Synthesizer mit zwei Oszillatoren (plus Suboszillator für Osc1), Tiefpassfilter, VCA, zwei Hüllkurven und zwei LFOs. Dies befindet sich alles im rechten Teil des Kijimi. Das wirkt als grobe Beschreibung recht einfach, aber es sind die Details und das Zusammenspiel der einzelnen Komponenten, die den herausragenden Grundklang des Kijimi erschaffen. Er hat u.a. die Eigenschaft in jeder Einstellung richtig zu „sitzen“.

Die Einflüsse des Polykobol sind an vielen Stellen bemerkbar und das beginnt direkt bei den Oszillatoren. Diese haben diskret aufgebaute Waveshaper und erlauben stufenlos überblendbare Wellenformen. Von Dreieck nach Pulswelle. Ganz am Ende des Reglers springt der Oszillator dann auf Pulswelle mit PWM. Kijimi ist nicht der einzige Synthesizer, der über dieses Feature verfügt, aber bei ihm resultiert dies in einem echten Highlight, weil sich seine Waveshaper sehr fein und sehr „ergiebig“ einstellen lassen…und natürlich auch modulierbar sind.

Auch eher seltsame Eigenheiten des Polykobol wurden übertragen: Die Lautstärke von Osc1 und Rauschen ist nur in drei Stufen (1/3, 2/3, 1/3+2/3 = 1) wählbar. Osc2 ist aber stufenlos zumischbar. Ebenso der Suboszillator, der aus Osc1 abgeleitet wird und immer eine Pulswelle eine Oktave tiefer spielt. Über weitere Schalter können die Oszillatoren auch synchronisiert und vom Keyboard entkoppelt werden. Osc2 kann über einen eigenen Regler stufenlos gegenüber Osc1 verstimmt werden. Die Potis für „Frequency“ / Grobstimmung sind jedoch in Halbtonschritten gerastert. Das ist eigentlich praktisch. Man muss sich aber erst einmal dran gewöhnen.

Allein mit den Waveshapern lassen sich schon sehr schöne Klangfarben(verläufe) erzielen. Zusätzlich gibt es noch einen Tiefpass-Filter. Es ist nicht der SSM2040 aus dem Kobol, sondern eine Variante des 2044. Mit einer Flankensteilheit von 12db/Okt ist es ein weiches Filter, aber nie schwammig. Im Gegenteil: Gerade bei Filter-FM Klängen zeigt sich seine große Agilität. Es passt von seiner Art her genau zu den Nuancen, die die Oszillatoren bzw. Waveshaper bereitstellen. Innerhalb der Filtersektion befinden sich „direkt vor Ort“ viele Regler mit denen sich die Modulationstiefe von z.B. der Hüllkurve, der Anschlagsdynamik, dem Aftertouch auf Cutoff bzw. Resonanz regeln lässt.

Die zweite Hüllkurve ist für den Filter und als Quelle für Pitch und Waveshape von Osc1 und 2 vorgesehen, während die erste alleinig für den VCA, also die Laustärke, zuständig ist. Beide sind als ADSR-Hüllkurven ausgelegt, wobei das Hüllkurvenverhalten sehr artikuliert ist und die Zeiten sehr schnell sein können. In der normalen Einstellung ist dann manchmal vor allem der Ausklang (zu) kurz. Deswegen ist zwischen den beiden ADSRs ein weiterer Schalter mit dem sich die Zeiten um den Faktor 2, 3 bis 4 multiplizieren lassen. Ein weiterer Schalter aktiviert „cycle“, also Hüllkurven-Looping. Dies ist schön gemacht im Stile alter EMS Synths als Trapezoid-Generator. „Sustain“ stellt dann nicht mehr den Haltepegel ein, sondern die Zeit über die der maximale Pegel gehalten wird. Rechts neben den Hüllkurven ist noch ein Regler für die Gesamtlaustärke und einer für die Portamento bzw. Glissando-Zeit.

Modulationssektion:

Die LFOs als „Hauptmodulatoren“ nehmen genauso viel Platz ein wie die Oszillator-Sektion. Jeder der beiden ist zwischen den klassischen Wellenformen (Sinus bis Pulswelle und Random = gestufter Zufall) umschaltbar. Hier sind die Wellenformen also (leider) nicht überblendbar. Jeder LFO ist aber mit einer einfachen Attack-Release-Hüllkurve kombiniert, die auf dessen Lautstärke / Intensität wirkt. Dies heißt, dass sich in dieser Sektion sehr einfach elegante LFO Ein- und Ausblendungen realisieren lassen, die als Ergebnis dann an die Modulationsziele, wie z.B. Waveshape (!), Filter Cutoff / Resonanz und Subosc-Pegel geschickt werden können. Die Geschwindigkeit der LFOs kann wiederum von der Anschlagsdynamik und Aftertouch moduliert werden! Ab Werk ist der Bereich von 0.1 bis 100Hz eingestellt. Er kann aber über das Menü nach oben und unten angepasst werden.

Noch weiter links ist dann die das zweite Herzstück des Kijimi: die Modulationsmatrix. Die Art, wie Modulationen zugewiesen und geregelt werden ist eindeutig vom Polykobol inspiriert.

Im oberen Bereich findet sich je ein Regler für LFO1, LFO2 und ADSR2 und rechts davon eine Reihe von Schaltern. Mit dem Regler lässt sich die Modulationstiefe einstellen und mit den Schaltern das Ziel zuweisen.

Jeder Schalter hat zwei LEDs: grün und rot. Grün steht für positive / unipolare, Rot für negative / unipolare Modulation. Sind beide an …so ist die Modulation bipolar. Total einleuchtend, sehr schnell zu bedienen, dabei stets präzise zu kontrollieren und extrem mächtig. Natürlich kann jede beliebige Kombination von einem, mehreren oder allen Zielen in uni- oder bipolar ausgewählt werden.

Osc2 als Quelle verhält sich etwas anders. Hier gibt es zwei Regler für die Tiefe des Einflusses auf Osc1 (FM!) oder Filter (Filter-FM!!). Gerade letztere demonstriert auf beeindruckende Art und Weise die Agilität des Filters.

Anschlagsdynamik (Velocity) und (Poly-!) Aftertouch sind ebenfalls Modulationsquellen. Für diese beiden Parameter gibt es pro Ziel einen Regler. Das erlaubt ein sehr (!) ausdruckreiches Spiel mit extrem feinen Nuancierungen.

Es ist das Zusammenspiel der einzelnen Elemente, das Regelverhalten und die Wertebereiche der Potentiometer, die Übersichtlichkeit und Möglichkeiten der Modulationsmatrix gepaart mit dem fantastischen Klang – kurzum: The whole package!, die den Kijimi zu einem großartigen Synthesizer machen. Jetzt auch antestbereit im Showroom!

Externe Videos:

Weiterführende Links zu "Black Corporation - Kijimi"
180135_1 Black Corporation - Deckard's Dream MKII
4.094,12 € *
Nettopreis: 3.529,41 €
200020_1 Black Corporation - Xerxes
3.889,41 € *
Nettopreis: 3.352,94 €
120428_1 Cwejman S1 Mk2 analog synth weiß
3.674,96 € *
Nettopreis: 3.168,07 €
200221_1 Conductive Labs - NDLR
398,00 € *
Nettopreis: 343,10 €
200093_1 Erica Synths - Desktop Bassline DB-1
533,00 € *
Nettopreis: 459,48 €
HOT SHIT
180180_1 Five12 - Vector
696,97 € *
Nettopreis: 600,84 €
190665_1 Kodamo - EssenceFM
1.266,25 € *
Nettopreis: 1.091,59 €
130059_1 Metasonix S-2000 Synthesizer
1.929,11 € *
Nettopreis: 1.663,03 €
160097_1 OTO - BAM
492,27 € *
Nettopreis: 424,37 €
160198_1 Analogue Systems - Sorceror
2.329,75 € *
Nettopreis: 2.008,41 €
HOT SHIT
200230_1 Endorphin.es - Queen of Pentacles
549,00 € *
Nettopreis: 473,28 €
200128_1 Moog Subharmonicon
778,00 € *
Nettopreis: 670,69 €
190705_1 Moonmodular MOON 2VS: Two VoiceSynthesizer System
5.066,96 € *
Nettopreis: 4.368,07 €
170199_1 VERLEIHSYSTEM Schneidersladen Studio Edition
146,22 € *
Nettopreis: 126,05 €
160288_1 Mordax - Data
472,77 € *
Nettopreis: 407,56 €
150276_1 MODOR - NF-1 - Neue Version
1.217,51 € *
Nettopreis: 1.049,58 €
180504_1 Endorphin.es - Shuttle System
ab 2.241,04 € *
Nettopreis: 1.931,93 €
NEW STUFF
200036_1 Erica Synths - SYNTRX
2.900,00 € *
Nettopreis: 2.500,00 €
200228_1 Erica Synths - Das Kleine Fusion
1.856,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.600,00 €
170011_1 Future Retro - XS
1.160,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.000,00 €
130115_1 Buchla Music Easel
3.898,18 € *
Nettopreis: 3.360,50 €
160239_1 Happy Nerding - 3x MIA
96,50 € *
Nettopreis: 83,19 €
190246_1 Moog Matriarch
2.038,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.756,90 €
190380_1 Snyderphonics - Manta Bundle
972,84 € * 1.071,29 € *
Nettopreis: 838,66 €
180398_2 Teenage Engineering OP-Z
554,66 € *
Nettopreis: 478,16 €
120212_2 Acidlab - Miami
857,82 € *
Nettopreis: 739,50 €
180192_1 MFB - Tanzbär 2
954,32 € *
Nettopreis: 822,69 €
200219_1 AtoVproject - 16n (AtoVproject Rework)
350,00 € *
Nettopreis: 301,72 €
200150_1 Noise Engineering - Desmodus Versio
344,00 € *
Nettopreis: 296,55 €
121008_1 Sherman Dual Filterbank 2
1.353,98 € *
Nettopreis: 1.167,22 €
160004_1 Make Noise - 0-Coast
515,66 € *
Nettopreis: 444,53 €
180179_1 Grp Synthesizer - A4
4.742,35 € *
Nettopreis: 4.088,23 €
180177_1 Grp Synthesizer - R24
1.939,83 € *
Nettopreis: 1.672,27 €
120772_1 Manikin Schrittmacher
1.309,00 € *
Nettopreis: 1.128,45 €
170161_1 MFB - Dominion Club
436,71 € *
Nettopreis: 376,47 €
130477_1 Expert Sleepers - Disting Mk4
158,00 € *
Nettopreis: 136,21 €
170232_1 Eowave - Ribbon 2
262,22 € *
Nettopreis: 226,05 €
HOT SHIT
190413_1 Polivoks - Polivoks Pro
1.821,88 € *
Nettopreis: 1.570,59 €
190006_1 Elektron - Digitone
680,40 € *
Nettopreis: 586,55 €
180435_1 Patch + Tweak
58,88 € *
Nettopreis: 56,08 €
Zuletzt angesehen